Author Topic: Looking to Enlist!  (Read 2997 times)

Offline norfious

• Awards
    • Awards
    • Awards
Looking to Enlist!
« on: July 20, 2014, 07:42:04 PM »
Hello! I have been a fan of Star Wars -- especially the clones -- for a long time and have desired to join the 501st for just as long. I had the thrill of meeting some of the Cloud City garrison at WizardCon earlier this year, which rekindled my desire enough to speak up and introduce myself here.

I am completely new to costume making of any sort, which has been what has prevented me posting previously. This is probably a huge undertaking for a complete newbie like me, but I've decided that I won't get any better unless I see other people's work and research here on the forums!

My eventual target costume is a clone commando, probably Scorch or Boss. Alternately, I would be interested in a phase 1 AOTC trooper or a ROTS shock trooper. Though honestly, any variety of clone trooper would do! I would be just as happy with a storm trooper as well!

I am a member of the clone trooper forums right now. I heard a group of folks over there got together for an "armor party," where they all made their armors together and helped each other out. I was wondering if the Cloud City Garrison ever did anything like this? If so, I would be incredibly interested. I have no skills whatsoever in sculpting plastic and am not confident enough to buy a $300+ kit and make it by myself.

More realistically, since my costuming skills are laughable at best, I think I should start with something simpler and cheaper, like an Imperial warrant officer or bridge crew. I'm also a member of the officer corp forums to get costume ideas.

I look forward to learning and talking with all of you. Any tips or direction for complete newbies would be appreciated!

Offline Leia8674

Re: Looking to Enlist!
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2014, 07:51:04 PM »
Welcome to the forum!  There is a lot of help out there and many people have been in your spot. 
Macy