Author Topic: New to Costuming  (Read 2430 times)

Offline forn_usk

• Awards
    • Awards
    • Awards
New to Costuming
« on: October 19, 2013, 04:09:36 PM »
Greetings all! Having recently purchased my tickets/booked my hotel for http://www.starwarscelebration.com/ I have roughly a 18 months to get my costume together. I have been a life long Star Wars fan and have often though of putting together Storm Trooper or Boba Fett armor. In doing my research, I have found that the armor set that I want to do is not one of the costumes "approved" by the 501st as it is from the Star Wars: The Old Republic video game. That being said, I am moving forward with my project plans.

I thought it best for me to be in contact with CCG/KB as I am new to the passion of making star wars costumes. After much internet research I have found that http://www.thedarkempire.org/ actually supports non-501st  approved costumes and have been in contact with them as well.

In doing initial research for my costume, it appears the biggest learning curve with the trooper/fett style costumes is the vacuum forming. As I am not that hot on electronics I am looking to avoid building the oven and may stick to using a conventional oven, possibly purchasing one to use specifically for this project.

Images for my project can be seen here: http://tor-fashion.com/2013/07/28/tt-16b-master-powertech-imp/

I am also going to see if I can volunteer as a spotter for one of the CCG/KB events in the near future.

Offline Aysel

Re: New to Costuming
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2013, 08:49:33 PM »
Hello and Welcome! We've got guys here that can answer most of your costuming questions, so don't be shy and ask your questions ^_^

Offline NavySith

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2013, 09:28:43 PM »
Welcome

Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

Scott
CT/SL/TK/AR-6754

Offline Luananeko

• Kashyyyk Base Reserve
  • The "Avatar Lady"...
    • Awards
    • Awards
    • Awards
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2013, 09:42:17 AM »