Author Topic: Guidance on a TI build  (Read 2879 times)

Hikuro1983

Guidance on a TI build
« on: June 28, 2017, 05:42:18 PM »
So I'm relatively new to the whole star wars costuming side of things.....I've had a cheap quick jedi outfit that has gone away as it couldn't hold together.
Recently a buddy of mine turned me on to being a Tie Fighter Pilot going as far as offering me some of his extra gear which would be the back and front upper body armor, the straps to connect them and hoses. Meanwhile I have a proper imperial buckle, gloves and boots from Imperialboots, helmet and chestbox all on the way and making my own flight suit.
You could say I'm well on my way to achieving something that for me is fairly monumental. But I'm already hitting a snag and that's cleaning up the armor parts. I'm a fairly large guy or you could say Porkins in proportion. While trying to figure out how the parts would feel and join I could tell that the edges are really sharp and the parts don't fit very well and very uncomfortable.
So any of you tie pilots out there, how much sanding around those edges do you go down on? I was almost thinking right to the end of the surface and then trying to balance out the collar area as one side seems thicker than the other looking unbalanced. To be honest I'm not finding much in terms of assembly or anything and I tend to do a lot better with instructions than improvising.
Any help would be appreciated so I can get this project done this summer and suit up with you all later. Thanks!

Offline carpe mindiem

Re: Guidance on a TI build
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2017, 06:12:12 PM »
Welcome, Lee!

I'm sure someone who knows more about working with armor than I do will be along shortly with some ideas for you.