Author Topic: I am not sure if I should be...  (Read 2484 times)

Offline shedthefear

• Awards
    • Awards
    • Awards
I am not sure if I should be...
« on: May 04, 2016, 03:04:04 PM »
I am not sure if I should be excited or overwhelmed. Hello my name is Chris, and I live in Salem. I want to get more involved in the community. I see you guys doing different events and am curious how I might be able to volunteer to be part of that?

Any help, suggestions, or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all in advance!

Offline Pixelito

• Cloud City Retired
  • Bats EVERYWHERE!!!
    • Awards
    • Awards
    • Awards
Re: I am not sure if I should be...
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 03:39:34 PM »
Hey there, Chris!

I'm going to preface this by stating that I am a total newbie here and have not been to any events, as I just finished my armor the other day.

As somebody fairly new to all this, I can confirm that you aren't alone in being overwhelmed! There's a lot more to the 501st than most people expect. You should certainly be excited too, though!

From what I understand, spotters are almost always needed at events. They help out all the people in costume, as well as many other important things! There is a spotter section here where you can likely find out more information and volunteer for specific events.

If you're interested in the costuming aspect and are ready to take the plunge and start building, you can find information about acceptable costumes and requirements here: http://databank.501st.com/databank/Membership:JoinUs

I'm sure a veteran member will have MUCH more insight than I do and hopefully they don't mind me chiming in before I've even been accepted!  :azn:
TK-16924
Heavy Weapons Trooper

Offline CJ49er

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 04:24:18 PM »
Welcome Chris!

What Pix said :)